UPDATE ODISHA

Make interesting mistakes: ISRO chief at IIT-Bhubaneswar Convocation

Update Odisha Bureau September 21, 2019 Education



Bhubaneswar: Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) chief K. Sivan on Saturday advised the students to make interesting mistakes and learn from that to make things glorious.

"Please go and make interesting mistakes, learn from that and innovate from that and make things glorious," said the ISRO chief while addressing the 8th Annual Convocation of IIT Bhubaneswar.

He advised the students to take calculative risk and go for innovation.

"If you are not failing then you are not trying anything hard," he pointed out.

"There is a chance of being unsuccessful. However, you don't take risk you would achieve anything significant in your life," said Sivan.

Sharing his life experience, the Chandrayan-II hero said at every stage of his life, he never got what he wanted at the first choice.

"But I learnt a valuable lesson. Life and career are not about making best of choices in life but are making the best of opportunities available to you," said the ISRO chief.

K.Sivan congratulated the fresh graduates on their success.

He also recognized the institute efforts in bringing new approaches to learning by inculcating the spirit of innovation as a fundamental approach to teaching.

Prof. R.V Raja Kumar Director, IIT Bhubaneswar congratulated the Gold Medal winners for their outstanding success and wished them best of luck for their future ahead.

He conferred the degrees to 32 Ph.d, 105 M.Tech, 67 M.Sc and 152 B.Tech students.

He was extremely happy to share that the Institute tripled its placements with one and half times rise in average salary.

He also emphasized on raising the standards on all fronts including internationalization of academics programmes, international collaborations on the research of high industrial & societal relevance, doubling of PhD Scholar's intake, massive plantations and rapid strides made in research and developmental activities of the Institute over last one year.

The President of India Gold Medal has been awarded to Shrohan Mohapatra of the Computer Science and Engineering for best academic performance among the entire outgoing B. Tech. batch of students.

The Director's Gold Medal has been awarded to Rahul Das of the School of Infrastructure for best academic performance among the entire outgoing M.Tech. batch of students.

The Director's Gold Medal has been awarded to Anubhav Nath of the School of Basic Sciences for best academic performance among the entire outgoing M. Sc. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in the respective Schools, the Institute Silver Medals have been awarded to Shrohan Mohapatra, Gonuguntla Neeharika, Indira Singh Dhakar, Gaurav Vishal and Chaudhari Hrishikesh Umesh among the outgoing B. Tech. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in the respective Schools, the Institute Silver Medals have been awarded to Rahul Das, Abhishek Parida, Srija Mukherjee, Ananta Dutta, P Abhishek and Spandan Dey among the outgoing M. Tech. batch of students.

For the best academic performance in the respective Schools, the Institute Silver Medals have been awarded to Anubhav Nath, Sharmistha Dey, Kaushik Nageswar Jaiswal, Shri. Sujay Nandi among the outgoing M. Sc. batch of students.